The CHCR’s Advisory Council provides leadership input and expertise to guide the Centre’s endeavours, projects, and development. Composed of leaders in government, academia, and industry, the Council provides advice and guidance on the strategic and operational future direction of the CHCR.

The Management Board — composed of University of Prince Edward Island administrative and faculty leaders — supports the Director in meeting the CHCR’s goals, in mentoring the Centre’s staff and in providing internal oversight for the CHCR’s operations and finances.

Advisory Council
Dr. Jürgen

Director, CHCR &
Professor, UPEI

Deputy Minister Lisa Thibeau

Deputy Minister, Prince Edward Island

A/Commr. Joanne Crampton

Assistant Commissioner,
Rtd. M.O.M.

Dr. Teodoro
Forcht Dagi

Professor, Queen’s University Belfast & Visiting Professor, Harvard Medical School


Executive Director, Research Data Canada

Management Board
Dr. Jürgen

Director, CHCR &
Professor, UPEI

Dr. Marva Sweeney-Nixon

Assoc. Vice President, Research and Dean,
UPEI Graduate Studies 


Chief Information Officer,

Dr. Christina Murray

UPEI Faculty of Nursing

Dr. Tarek

UPEI Faculty of Business

Dr. Rebecca

Associate Professor,

Dr. Jürgen Krause

Director & Professor

M.Sc., PhD

Lisa Thibeau

Deputy Minister

Health and Wellness

A/Commr. Joanne Crampton

Assistant Commissioner

Rtd., M.O.M.

Dr. Teodoro Forcht Dagi



Mark Leggott

Executive Director

B.Sc., M.Sc.

Dr. Greg Naterer

VP Academic & Research

M.Sc., PhD

Dr. Greg Naterer is the Vice-President, Academic and Research. As the University’s chief academic and research officer, he provides academic leadership and effective administrative and fiscal management in support of the University’s mission. Dr. Naterer is also a Professor in the Faculty of Sustainable Design Engineering at UPEI.

Prior to his appointment at UPEI, Dr. Naterer served as the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Memorial University of Newfoundland (2012 – 2022), where he led substantial growth in faculty, enrolments, and research capacity. Dr. Naterer has served in prominent leadership roles in education and research, nationally and internationally. He was the Chair of Canada’s National Council of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science (NCDEAS). He chaired the NSERC Discovery Grant Committee (Mechanical Engineering) and currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the AIAA Journal of Thermophysics and Heat Transfer.

For his leadership contributions at an international level, Dr. Naterer was awarded the K.Y. Lo Medal of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC). He received the Jules Stachiewicz Medal of the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering for his contributions to heat transfer and fluid mechanics. He was awarded the EIC Julian C. Smith Medal for exceptional achievements in the development of Canada. Dr. Naterer also received a Best Professor Teaching Award from the Engineering Student Society.

Dr. Naterer’s research interests lie in the fields of energy systems, thermodynamics and heat transfer. Previously he was a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Advanced Energy Systems. Dr. Naterer was born in Toronto, Ontario, and received his BMath (Applied Mathematics), MASc (Mechanical Engineering) and PhD (Mechanical Engineering) degrees from the University of Waterloo.

Dana Sanderson

Chief Information Officer


Dr. Christina Murray

Dean, Faculty of Nursing

BA, BScN (UPEI); RN; MN, PhD (Calgary)

Dr. Tarek Mady

Dean & Associate Professor

BComm., M.Sc., PhD

Dr. Rebecca Reed-Jones

Associate Professor

B.Sc., M.Sc., PhD